Released On 10th Jun 2021

Get Ahead program for Years 7-9

10 June 2021

Dear Parent

Get Ahead program for Years 7-9

As you may be aware, Bridgwater and Taunton College Trust have initiated a program to encourage and support home learning and engagement in a variety of subjects. The program involves free online tutoring sessions with qualified teachers in the subjects of Science, Maths and English.

If they wish to engage in these sessions, which run from 6pm to 7pm Mondays to Wednesday, students can join via the links listed below. Each link can be copied into a web browser address bar or typed in.

The sessions cover a variety of key topics and involve live exam answers followed by a live Q&A that all students are encouraged to participate in via the ‘chat’ feature on Teams.

We hope that you encourage your child to engage in the new ‘Get Ahead’ program to aid in their progress through the core curriculum. The sessions are suitable for years 7, 8 and 9. Please also encourage your child to talk to their teachers about the program.

If there are any questions about the ‘Get Ahead’ program, please do not hesitate to contact the school.

Yours sincerely

Miss E Forward

Headteacher

 

Science

Monday 7 June - Do you know scientific equipment and how to use it?

https://tinyurl.com/247w78mf

Monday 14 June - How do we decide what to investigate?

https://tinyurl.com/4b22etwd

Monday 21 June - How do we plan a scientific investigation?

https://tinyurl.com/2mtmb7nj

Monday 28 June - How can we analyse data?

https://tinyurl.com/k239zybz

Monday 5 July - How do we make conclusions?

https://tinyurl.com/5fz6car9

Monday 12 July - Can we trust scientists?

https://tinyurl.com/kuhxzrds

Maths

Tuesday 8 June - Number -Fractional and negative indices

https://tinyurl.com/49a4hfdz

Tuesday 15 June - Algebra -Quadratic expressions -expanding and factorising

https://tinyurl.com/yt55aa6n

Tuesday 22 June - Averages from a frequency table

https://tinyurl.com/9scwruas

Tuesday 29 June - Circle theorems

https://tinyurl.com/a8sb5jxw

Tuesday 6 July - Ratio and proportion -Direct and inverse proportion

https://tinyurl.com/24vtc4hf

Tuesday 13 July - Probability - Probability trees

https://tinyurl.com/4suewkwu

English

Wednesday 9 June - Writing about structure

https://tinyurl.com/2yrjzjej

Wednesday 16 June - Creative writing

https://tinyurl.com/c5srh4nf

Wednesday 23 June - Identity in Tissue and Emigree

https://tinyurl.com/2cbwu44c

Wednesday 30 June - A Christmas Carol

https://tinyurl.com/9vmy3zt3

Wednesday 7 July - Language analysis

https://tinyurl.com/47b4bj9a

Wednesday 14 July - Macbeth

https://tinyurl.com/6jwnxa53