Released On 14th Dec 2021

End of Term Letter

14 December 2021

Dear Parent/Carer

End of Term Letter

I would like to wish each and every family a wonderful Christmas. I am sure it will be a time for joy, celebration and hope for the New Year to come. Christmas may be the highlight of many peoples’ year but the highlight of mine is being able to see what the students have achieved throughout the year at Stanchester Academy. I am so pleased to see excellent teaching taking place right up until the end of term and, despite this being our longest term, I continue to feel proud to see both students and staff working together to maintain focus and discipline in the final days of term. For me, that shows true resilience and a commitment to learning. Our Rewards’ nominations for students from Years 7 to 11 have demonstrated just how hard pupils have worked this term. There are so many pupils to congratulate and such a buzz around the school as we recognise achievements and celebrate together. Our students have thought of others this holiday season through their generous donations to our local Food Bank and their acts of kindness which will brighten others’ Christmas holidays. Not only have they collected food, but they have kept community at the heart of our term by raising money for Children in Need; rehearsing for the school show; singing their hearts out in the choir; supporting one another through well-being groups and citizenship in action projects; helping one another to prepare for their exams and assessments and demonstrating kindness in small ways all across the school.

In keeping with this theme of kindness and generosity, students have expressed their gratitude to all staff at the end of term and I echo this sentiment. Every member of staff works hard so that every child at Stanchester Academy can succeed. From dedicated teachers who go above and beyond what is asked of them to support their students, to the office and support staff who are relentless in their pursuit for high standards and our kitchen and site teams who keep our school running smoothly and always greet us with a smile. I would like to express my deepest appreciation to staff, families and students for working together as a community in what has been one of the most challenging terms I have ever experienced in the education sector.

Communication 

Having met with several parents this term we feel we need to improve on our existing channels of communication and will be making this a focus of the new school year. As a parent, I know how important it is to feel informed and supported by my child’s school and to have a point of contact to discuss how they are progressing. As a school on a three-year journey to becoming truly trauma informed, we recognise that our young people need a key adult in school whom they feel they know well. At Stanchester Academy, we aim to make that first port of call your child’s tutor. Included in this letter (and on our website) are the email addresses of form tutors. We hope that this will provide you with a first point of contact with any matters related to your child and staff will aim to reply within 48 hours. Please, always copy in office@stanchester.co.uk so we can ensure your enquiry is responded to (for example, in the case of staff absence).  

Year 7

Mrs Hendry – Rebecca.Hendry@stanchester.co.uk

Ms Sayer - Kay.Sayer@stanchester.co.uk

Miss Parry - Alice.Parry@stanchester.co.uk

Mr Cox - David.Cox@stanchester.co.uk

Miss Beaumont - Melinda.Beaumont@stanchester.co.uk

Miss Watts – Katie.Watts-Broom@stanchester.co.uk

Year 8

Mrs Symons Jones – Helen.Jones@stanchester.co.uk

Mr Hext – Jonathan.Hext@stanchester.co.uk

Mr Burfitt - Alan.Burfitt@stanchester.co.uk  

Mr Moth – Andrew.Moth@stanchester.co.uk

Mr Garrido – Eloy.GarridoLova@stanchester.co.uk

Mr Barrow – Steve.Barrow@stanchester.co.uk

Year 9

Mr Weymouth – Richard.Weymouth@stanchester.co.uk  

Mr Kilminster – Nik.Kilminster@stanchester.co.uk  

Mr Moore – Sam.Moore@stanchester.co.uk

Miss Clark – Melissa.Clark@stanchester.co.uk

Mrs Hyde – Helen.Hyde@stanchester.co.uk

Mr Guise – Stephen.Guise@stanchester.co.uk

Year 10

Mr Meadows – Andrew.Meadows@stanchester.co.uk

Mr Auger – Nick.Auger@stanchester.co.uk

Miss Small – Harriett.Small@stanchester.co.uk

Mr Woollard – Daniel.Woollard@stanchester.co.uk

(We have new teachers starting in January who will be tutors to 10LW and 10CL) 

Year 11 

Mrs Wells – Melissa.Wells@stanchester.co.uk

Ms Willetts - Rebecca.Willetts@stanchester.co.uk  

Miss Glass – Jess.Glass@stanchester.co.uk

Ms Gray – Zoe.Gray@stanchester.co.uk

Mrs Burrow – Jenna.Burrow@stanchester.co.uk

As you may have seen, we are required to offer students an on-site COVID-19 test once after the holidays. In order to accommodate testing the students of families who consent to this, we will be operating a staggered return to school, as detailed below. Remote learning will be in place for all students who are not on site and they are expected to join remote lessons from tutor time on Wednesday 5 December unless they are in school for on-site testing.  

Wednesday 5 January

Years 7 and 8 return with on-site testing  

Years 9, 10 and 11 remote learning  

Years 7 and 8 return with on-site testing  

Years 9, 10 and 11 remote learning  
Thursday 6 January

Years 9 and 10 return with on-site testing Years 7 and 8 are in normal lessons  

Year 11 remote learning  
Friday 7 January

Year 11 return with on-site testing  

Years 7,8, 9 and 10 are in normal lessons  

 

This year we say goodbye to a brilliant Colleague, Mr Reynolds who, after 15 years of dedication and commitment to Stanchester Academy, first as Head of PE and more recently as Assistant Head of Behaviour, is moving on to become a Deputy Headteacher. I’ve enjoyed every minute of working with Mr Reynolds over the last couple of years and I know he has loved all his time here. We wish him all the very best for his future and every success in his new role.   

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a healthy, happy New Year. Take care, be safe, and I look forward to seeing our students back at school in January 2022 for a busy and productive term. 

Yours sincerely

Miss E Forward

Headteacher